[et_pb_dcsbcm_divi_breadcrumbs_module admin_label=”Divi Breadcrumbs” hide_homebreadcrumb=”off” separator=”sep-raquo” hide_currentbreadcrumb=”off” homebreadcrumborientation=”left” background_layout=”light” fontsbreadcrumbs_line_height_tablet=”2″ fontsseperator_line_height_tablet=”2″ fontsbreadcrumblinks_line_height_tablet=”2″ /]

13 Candidates Qualify For Roswell Elections

Along with outgoing Mayor Jere Wood, incumbent City Council members Nancy Diamond and Jerry Orlans are not seeking re-election.

ROSWELL, GA — There are 13 candidates who will be seeking elected office in November on the Roswell City Council. Qualifying ended early Friday evening, and the office of mayor as well as the City Council Post 4, 5 and 6 seats are all contested.

Three of the incumbents — Mayor Jere Wood and City Council members Nancy Diamond of Post 5 and Jerry Orlans of Post 6 qualified to seek re-election. An additional two Council members — Lori Henry and Don Horton — resigned their Posts 4 and 3 seats, respectively, to run for the office of mayor.

Here’s a rundown on who has qualified to be on the Nov. 7 ballot:

City Council Post 4

  • Marie Willsey
  • Andrew Leonardi
  • Meg M. McClanahan

City Council Post 5

City Council Post 6

  • Matt Judy
  • Karen Parrish
  • Gus Hadorn

Office of Mayor

Mayor Jere Wood disclosed he would not be seeking re-election after a Fulton County Superior Court judge ruled he was ineligible to seek the current four-year term he’s serving in 2013. His eligibility was challenged by Michael Litten, the same man who is now running to succeed the longtime leader. Wood has vowed to appeal Judge Craig Schwall’s ruling (SIGN UP: Get Patch’s Daily Newsletter and Real Time News Alerts. Or, if you have an iPhone, download the free Patch app).

The last day to register to vote in the Nov. 7 municipal election is Oct. 10, and Fulton County will hold early voting Monday, Oct. 16 through Friday, Nov. 3. This will also include voting on Saturday, Oct. 28 and Sunday, Oct. 29. Please note this early voting time period does not include Saturday, Oct. 21 or Sunday, Oct. 22. Early voting locations will be announced in the coming weeks.